Janitorial Service Providers and Contractors
COVID-19 Update: Sexual Violence and Harassment Prevention Training for Janitorial Service Providers
Due to COVID-19, the biennial “in-person” sexual violence and harassment prevention training that janitorial employers must provide cannot be conducted in a manner that protects the health, safety and welfare of all participants. Consequently, the Labor Commissioner’s Office will suspend enforcement of the “in-person” training requirements, including the additional requirements related to such training established by AB 547 (2019), and instead require employers to comply with Government Code section 12950.1, which may be done by providing online trainings to all janitorial workers and supervisors made available through the California Department of Fair Employment and Housing (DFEH) website beginning January 1, 2021. More information on suspended enforcement of the “in-person” training requirements can be found at AB 547 final proposal.
This website will be updated as control of COVID-19 safely allows “in-person” sexual violence and harassment prevention training to resume.
The Property Service Workers Protection Act is a law that requires all janitorial employers to:
- Register with the Labor Commissioner’s Office beginning July 1, 2018
- Provide employees sexual harassment prevention training once every two years beginning January 1, 2019
Janitorial Service Providers and Contractors Responsibilities
Steps to register:
Who must register?
Any person or entity who meets the statutory definition of employer must register with the Labor Commissioner beginning July 1, 2018. The Act defines a janitorial “employer” to mean anyone that employs at least one covered worker or otherwise engages by contracts, subcontracts, or franchise arrangements for the provision of janitorial services by one or more covered workers.
- A covered worker includes any employee, independent contractor or franchisee predominantly working as a janitor.
- The statutory definition of “employer” in Labor Code section 1420(e)(1) does not contain exceptions for certain types of janitorial services providers. The Labor Commissioner’s Office has received numerous inquiries about whether certain entities, such as a professional employer organization (PEO) or a non-profit organization, are required to register. Any entity that meets the statutory definition of “employer” shown above is required to register. However, see FAQ regarding public entities.
To register, employers must complete the registration application online or by mail and pay a $500 nonrefundable application fee. The registration is valid for one year and must be renewed annually by the month and day of the original registration’s issuance. The renewal fee is $500.
Record Keeping Requirements:
Every employer must keep detailed records for three years that includes the following information:
- Names and addresses of all employees engaged in rendering actual services for any business of the employer.
- The hours worked daily by each employee, including the times the employee begins and ends each work period.
- The wage and wage rate paid each payroll period.
- The age of all minor employees.
- Any other conditions of employment.
- The names, addresses, periods of work, and compensation paid to all other covered workers.
- Janitorial Registration FAQs
- Verify a janitorial registration using the registration search tool
- California Labor Code Sections 1420 to 1434 – Property Services Workers Protection Act
- The Department of Fair Employment and Housing Sexual Harassment pamphlet (DFEH 185) is available in the following languages:
English Español (Spanish) 中文 (Chinese) 한국어 (Korean) Tagalog Tiếng Việt (Vietnamese)
For questions, status on an application, or online registration assistance, call or email: