
 

 

 

 




 

INDUSTRIAL WELFARE COMMISSION ORDER 
NO. 8-80 (Revised) REGULATING

WAGES, HOURS, AND WORKING 

CONDITIONS IN THE INDUSTRIES 


HANDLING PRODUCTS AFTER 

HARVEST
 

Article 8. Industries Handling Products After Harvest (Order No. 8-80) Sec. 
11080. Order Regulating Wages, Hours, and Working Conditions in the 
Industries Handling Products After Harvest. 

1. APPLICABILITY OF ORDER 

This Order shall apply to all persons employed in the industries handling 
products after harvest whether paid on a time, piece rate, commission, or 
other basis, except that: 

(A) Provisions of Sections 3 through 12 shall not apply to 
persons employed in administrative, executive, or professional 
capacities. No person shall be considered to be employed in an 
administrative, executive, or professional capacity unless one of 
the following conditions prevails: 

(1) The employee is engaged in work which is 
primarily intellectual, managerial, or creative, and 
which requires exercise of discretion and 
independent judgment, and for which the 
remuneration is not less than $900.00 per month; or 

(2) The employee is licensed or certified by the 
State of California and is engaged in the practice of 
one of the following recognized professions: law, 
medicine, dentistry, pharmacy, optometry, 
architecture, engineering, teaching, or accounting. 

(B) The provisions of this Order shall not apply to employees 
directly employed by the State or any county, incorporated city 
or town or other municipal corporation, or to outside 
salespersons. 

(C) Provisions of this Order shall not apply to any individual 
who is the parent, spouse, child, or legally adopted child of the 
employer. 



 2. DEFINITIONS 

(A) "Commission" means the Industrial Welfare Commission 
of the State of California. 

(B) "Division" means the Division of Labor Standards 
Enforcement of the State of California. 

(C) "Industries Handling Products After Harvest" means 
any industry, business, or establishment operated for the 
purpose of grading, sorting, cleaning, drying, cooling, icing, 
packing, dehydrating, cracking, shelling, candling, separating, 
slaughtering, picking, plucking, shucking, pasteurizing, 
fermenting, ripening, molding, or otherwise preparing any 
agricultural, horticultural, egg, poultry, meat, seafood, rabbit, or 
dairy product for distribution, and includes all the operations 
incidental thereto. 

(D) "Employ" means to engage, suffer, or permit to work. 

(E) "Employee" means any person employed by an employer. 

(F) "Employer" means any person as defined in Section 18 of 
the Labor Code, who directly or indirectly, or through an agent 
or any other person, employs or exercises control over the 
wages, hours, or working conditions of any person. 

(G) "Hours worked" means the time during which an 
employee is subject to the control of an employer, and includes 
all the time the employee is suffered or permitted to work, 
whether or not required to do so. 

(H) "Minor" means, for the purpose of this Order, any person 
under the age of eighteen (18) years. 

(I) "Outside Salesperson" means any person, 18 years of age 
or over, who customarily and regularly works more than half 
the working time away from the employer's place of business 
selling tangible or intangible items or obtaining orders or 
contracts for products, services or use of facilities. 

(J) "Primarily" as used in Section 1, Applicability, means 
more than one-half the employee's work time. 

(K) "Split shift" means a work schedule which is interrupted 
by non-paid non-working periods established by the employer, 
other than bona fide rest or meal periods. 



 

(L) "Teaching" means, for the purpose of Section 1 of this 
Order, the profession of teaching under a certificate from the 
Commission for Teacher Preparation and Licensing. 

(M) "Wages" (See California Labor Code, Section 200) 

(N) "Workday" means any consecutive 24 hours beginning at 
the same time each calendar day. 

(O) "Workweek" means any seven (7) consecutive days, 
starting with the same calendar day each week. "Workweek" is 
a fixed and regularly recurring period of 168 hours, seven (7) 
consecutive 24-hour periods. 

3. HOURS AND DAYS OF WORK 

(A) The following overtime provisions are applicable to 
employees eighteen (18) years of age or over and to employees 
sixteen (16) or seventeen (17) years of age who are not required 
by law to attend school: such employees shall not be employed 
more than eight (8) hours in any workday or more than forty 
(40) hours in any workweek unless the employee receives one 
and one-half (1 1/2) times such employee's regular rate of pay 
for all hours worked over forty (40) hours in the workweek. 
Employment beyond eight (8) hours in any workday or more 
than six (6) days in any workweek is permissible under the 
following conditions: 

(1) MANDATORY DAY OFF 
REQUIREMENT: An employee may work up to a 
maximum of seventy-two (72) hours in any 
workweek after which the employee shall have a 
twenty-four (24) hour period off duty, except that: 

(a) In the grape and tree fruit 
industry, the following key personnel: 
receivers, loaders, fork lift operators, 
shipping clerks, and maintenance 
workers, may be exempt from the 
mandatory day off requirement; and 

(b) In the cotton ginning industry 
and in the tree nut hulling and 
shelling industry, all employees shall 
have the voluntary right to be exempt 
from the mandatory day off provision 
in this order. Any employee desiring to 
exempt himself or herself from the 



mandatory day off provision may 
exercise that exemption by notifying 
the employee's employer in writing. 
Any employee who wishes to withdraw 
that exemption may do so by notifying 
the employer in writing at least five 
days in advance of the desired day off. 
(This notice provision is not intended 
to be applicable to instances of illness 
or emergencies); and 

(c) In the exercise of any exemption 
from the mandatory day off provided 
above or by action of the state labor 
commissioner, (administrative 
exemptions from the mandatory day 
off are permitted by Labor Code 
Section 1198.3 under certain 
conditions) no employer shall 
discriminate against any employee who 
desires to take 24 hours off after 72 
hours worked in a workweek; and 

(d) All employers who permit any 
employees to work more than 72 
hours in a workweek must give each 
employee a copy of the applicable 
provision for exemption, including 
subsection (c) above in English and in 
Spanish, and post it at all times in a 
prominently visible place; and 

(2) Overtime hours shall be compensated at: 

(a) One and one-half (1 1/2) times the 
employee's regular rate of pay for all 
hours worked in excess of eight (8) 
hours up to and including twelve (12) 
hours in any workday, and for the first 
eight (8) hours worked on the seventh 
(7th) day of work. 

(b) Double the employee's regular rate 
of pay for all hours worked in excess 
of twelve (12) hours in any workday, 
and for all hours worked in excess of 
eight (8) hours on the seventh (7th) day 
of work in any workweek. 

(B) No employer shall be deemed to have violated the 



provisions of the above subsection (A) by instituting, pursuant 
to a written agreement voluntarily executed by the employer 
and at least two-thirds (2/3) of the affected employees before 
the performance of the work, a regularly scheduled week of 
work which includes not more than four (4) working days of not 
more than ten (10) hours each so long as the employee receives 
at least two (2) consecutive days off within each workweek, 
provided that: 

(1) The employer is not required to pay the 
premium wage rate prescribed in subsection (A) for 
the 9th and 10th hours worked during such 
workdays; 

(2) If an employee on such a four-day schedule is 
required or permitted to work more than ten (10) 
hours in any workday, the premium wage rate 
provisions in subsection (A) above shall apply to 
such employee for those hours worked in excess of 
the 10th hour of that workday; 

(3) Any employee on such a schedule who is 
required or permitted to work on more than four (4) 
days shall be compensated at the rate of not less 
than one and one-half (1 1/2) times the employee's 
regular rate of pay for the first eight (8) hours on 
such additional workdays and double the 
employee's regular rate of pay for work in excess of 
eight (8) hours on those workdays. 

(4) After a lapse of twelve (12) months and upon 
petition of a majority of the affected employees a 
new vote shall be held and a two-thirds (2/3) vote 
of the affected employees will be required to 
reverse the agreement above. If such agreement is 
revoked the employer shall comply within sixty 
(60) days. Upon a proper showing by the employer 
of undue hardship, the Division may grant an 
extension of the time for compliance. 

(C) One and one-half (1 1/2) times a minor's regular rate of pay 
shall be paid for all work over forty (40) hours in any workweek 
except that minors sixteen (16) and seventeen (17) years old 
who are not required by law to attend school and may therefore 
be employed for the same hours as an adult are subject to 
subsection (A) or (B) above. 

(VIOLATIONS OF CHILD LABOR LAWS are 
subject to civil penalties of from $500 to $10,000 as 
well as to criminal penalties provided herein. Refer 



to California Labor Code Sections 1285 to 1311 
and 1390 to 1398 for additional restrictions on the 
employment of minors. Employers should ask 
school districts about required work permits.) 

(D) An employee may be employed on seven (7) workdays in 
one workweek with no overtime pay required when the total 
hours of employment during such workweek do not exceed 
thirty (30) and the total hours of employment in any one 
workday thereof do not exceed six (6). 

(E) If, during any workday an employer declares a work recess 
of one-half (1/2) hour or more, other than a meal period, and the 
employer notifies the employees of the time to report back for 
work and permits them to leave the premises, such recess need 
not be treated as hours worked provided that there shall not be 
more than two (2) such recess periods within one shift and the 
total duration does not exceed two (2) hours. Work stoppages of 
less than one-half (1/2) hour may not be deducted from hours 
worked. 

(F) If a meal period occurs on a shift beginning or ending at or 
between the hours of 10 p.m. and 6 a.m., facilities shall be 
available for securing hot food or drink or for heating food or 
drink; and a suitable sheltered place shall be provided in which 
to consume such food or drink. 

(G) The provisions of this section are not applicable to 
employees whose hours of service are regulated by (1) the 
United States Department of Transportation Code of Federal 
Regulations, Title 49, Sections 395.1 to 395.13, Hours of 
Service of Drivers, or (2) Title 13 of the California Code of 
Regulations, Subchapter 6.5, Section 1200 and following 
sections, regulating hours of drivers. 

(H) Except as provided in subsections (C) and (F), this section 
shall not apply to any employee covered by a collective 
bargaining agreement if said agreement provides premium wage 
rates for overtime work and a cash wage rate for such employee 
of not less than one dollar ($1.00) per hour more than the 
minimum wage. 

4. MINIMUM WAGES 

(A) Every employer shall pay to each employee wages not less 
than four dollars and seventy-five cents ($4.75) per hour for all 
hours worked, effective October 1, 1996; not less than five 
dollars ($5.00) per hour for all hours worked, effective March 1, 
1997; not less than five dollars and fifteen cents ($5.15) per 
hour for all hours worked, effective September 1, 1997; and not 



less than five dollars and seventy-five cents ($5.75) per hour for 
all hours worked, effective March 1, 1998, except: 

(1) LEARNERS. Employees 18 years of age or 
over, during their first one hundred and sixty (160) 
hours of employment in occupations in which they 
have no previous similar or related experience, may 
be paid not less than eighty-five percent (85%) of 
the minimum wage rounded to the nearest nickel. 

(2) MINORS may be paid not less than eighty-five 
percent (85%) of the minimum wage rounded to the 
nearest nickel provided that the number of minors 
employed at said lesser rate shall not exceed 
twenty-five percent (25%) of the persons regularly 
employed in the establishment. An employer of less 
than ten (10) persons may employ three (3) minors 
at said lesser rate. The twenty-five percent (25%) 
limitation on the employment of minors shall not 
apply during school vacations. 

(3) Minors sixteen (16) and seventeen (17) years 
old must be paid the minimum wage for all hours 
worked within any workweek during which they 
work overtime. 

NOTE: Under certain conditions, the 
full minimum wage may be required 
for minors under 16 years of age. See 
Labor Code Section 1391.2 (b). 

(B) Every employer shall pay to each employee, on the 
established payday for the period involved, not less than the 
applicable minimum wage for all hours worked in the payroll 
period, whether the remuneration is measured by time, piece, 
commission, or otherwise. 

(C) When an employee works a split shift, one hour's pay at the 
minimum wage shall be paid in addition to the minimum wage 
for that workday, except when the employee resides at the place 
of employment. 

(D) The provisions of this section shall not apply to apprentices 
regularly indentured under the State Division of Apprenticeship 
Standards. 

5. REPORTING TIME PAY 

(A) Each workday an employee is required to report for work 
and does report, but is not put to work or is furnished less than 



half said employee's usual or scheduled day's work, the 
employee shall be paid for half the usual or scheduled day's 
work, but in no event for less than two (2) hours nor more than 
four (4) hours, at the employee's regular rate of pay, which shall 
not be less than the minimum wage. 

(B) If an employee is required to report for work a second time 
in any workday and is furnished less than two hours of work on 
the second reporting, said employee shall be paid for two hours 
at the employee's regular rate of pay, which shall not be less 
than the minimum wage. 

(C) The foregoing reporting time pay provisions are not 

applicable when: 


(1) Operations cannot commence or continue due to 
threats to employees or property; or when 
recommended by civil authorities; or 

(2) Public utilities fail to supply electricity, water, 
or gas, or there is a failure in the public utilities, or 
sewer system; or 

(3) The interruption of work is caused by an Act of 
God or other cause not within the employer's 
control. 

(D) This section shall not apply to an employee on paid standby 
status who is called to perform assigned work at a time other 
than the employee's scheduled reporting time. 

6. LICENSES FOR HANDICAPPED WORKERS 

A license may be issued by the Division authorizing employment of a person 
whose earning capacity is impaired by physical disability or mental 
deficiency at less than the minimum wage. Such licenses shall be granted 
only upon joint application of employer and employee and employee's 
representative if any. 

A special license may be issued to a nonprofit organization such as a 
sheltered workshop or rehabilitation facility fixing special minimum rates to 
enable the employment of such persons without requiring individual licenses 
of such employees. 

All such licenses and special licenses shall be renewed on a yearly basis or 
more frequently at the discretion of the Division. 

(See California Labor Code, Sections 1191 and 1191.5.) 



7. RECORDS 

(A) Every employer shall keep accurate information with 
respect to each employee including the following: 

(1) Full name, home address, occupation and social 
security number. 

(2) Birthdate, if under 18 years, and designation as 
a minor. 

(3) Time records showing when the employee 
begins and ends each work period. Meal periods, 
split shift intervals and total daily hours worked 
shall also be recorded. Meal periods during which 
operations cease and authorized rest periods need 
not be recorded. 

(4) Total wages paid each payroll period, including 
value of board, lodging, or other compensation 
actually furnished to the employee. 

(5) Total hours worked in the payroll period and 
applicable rates of pay. This information shall be 
made readily available to the employee upon 
reasonable request. 

(6) When a piece rate or incentive plan is in 
operation, piece rates or an explanation of the 
incentive plan formula shall be provided to 
employees. An accurate production record shall be 
maintained by the employer. 

(B) Every employer shall semimonthly or at the time of each 
payment of wages furnish each employee, either as a detachable 
part of the check, draft, or voucher paying the employee's 
wages, or separately, an itemized statement in writing showing: 
(1) all deductions; (2) the inclusive dates of the period for which 
the employee is paid; (3) the name of the employee or the 
employee's social security number; and (4) the name of the 
employer, provided all deductions made on written orders of the 
employee may be aggregated and shown as one item. 

(C) All required records shall be in the English language and in 
ink or other indelible form, properly dated, showing month, day 
and year, and shall be kept on file by the employer for at least 
three years at the place of employment or at a central location 
within the State of California. An employee's records shall be 
available for inspection by the employee upon reasonable 



request. 

(D) Clocks shall be provided in all major work areas or within 
reasonable distance thereto insofar as practicable. 

8. CASH SHORTAGE AND BREAKAGE 

No employer shall make any deduction from the wage or require any 
reimbursement from an employee for any cash shortage, breakage, or loss of 
equipment, unless it can be shown that the shortage, breakage or loss is 
caused by a dishonest or willful act, or by the gross negligence of the 
employee. 

[The former second sentence which was part of this section, 
effective January 1, 1980, was removed, effective April 24, 
1989, based on a judicial determination that it was inconsistent 
with California law and, therefore, invalid and unenforceable. 
People v. Industrial Welfare Commission et al., Santa Cruz 
Superior Court No. 85071.] 

9. UNIFORMS AND EQUIPMENT 

(A) When uniforms are required by the employer to be worn by 
the employee as a condition of employment, such uniforms shall 
be provided and maintained by the employer. The term 
"uniform" includes wearing apparel and accessories of 
distinctive design or color. 

NOTE: This section shall not apply to protective 
apparel regulated by the Occupational Safety and 
Health Standards Board. 

(B) When tools or equipment are required by the employer or 
are necessary to the performance of a job, such tools and 
equipment shall be provided and maintained by the employer, 
except that an employee whose wages are at least two (2) times 
the minimum wage may be required to provide and maintain 
hand tools and equipment customarily required by the trade or 
craft.This subsection (B) shall not apply to apprentices regularly 
indentured under the State Division of Apprenticeship 
Standards. 

NOTE: This section shall not apply to protective 
equipment and safety devices on tools regulated by 
the Occupational Safety and Health Standards 
Board. 

(C) A reasonable deposit may be required as security for the 
return of the items furnished by the employer under provisions 
of subsections (A) and (B) of this section upon issuance of a 



receipt to the employee for such deposit. Such deposits shall be 
made pursuant to Section 400 and following of the Labor Code 
or an employer with the prior written authorization of the 
employee may deduct from the employee's last check the cost of 
an item furnished pursuant to (A) and (B) above in the event 
said item is not returned. No deduction shall be made at any 
time for normal wear and tear. All items furnished by the 
employer shall be returned by the employee upon completion of 
the job. 

10. MEALS AND LODGING 

(A) "Meal" means an adequate, well-balanced serving of a 
variety of wholesome, nutritious foods. 

"Lodging" means living accommodations available to the 
employee for full-time occupancy which are adequate, decent, 
and sanitary according to usual and customary standards. 
Employees shall not be required to share a bed. 

(B) Meals or lodging may not be credited against the minimum 
wage without a voluntary written agreement between the 
employer and the employee. When credit for meals or lodging is 
used to meet part of the employer's minimum wage obligation, 
the amounts so credited may not be more than the following: 

Effective 
January 1, 1998 

Effective 
March 1, 

1998 

Room occupied alone 
$24.25 per 

week 
$27.05 per 

week 

Room shared 
$20.00 per 

week 
$22.30 per 

week 

Apartment--two-thirds (2/3) of the 
ordinary rental value, and in no event 
more than 

$290.80 
per month 

$324.70 
per month 

Where a couple are both employed by 
the employer, two-thirds (2/3) of the 
ordinary rental value, and in no event 
more than 

$430.20 
per month 

$480.30 
per month 

Meals: 
Breakfast $1.80 $2.05 
Lunch $2.55 $2.85 
Dinner $3.40 $3.80 



 

 

(C) Meals evaluated as part of the minimum wage must be bona 
fide meals consistent with the employee's work shift. 
Deductions shall not be made for meals not received nor 
lodging not used. 

(D) If, as a condition of employment, the employee must live at 
the place of employment or occupy quarters owned or under the 
control of the employer, then the employer may not charge rent 
in excess of the values listed herein. 

11. MEAL PERIODS 

(A) No employer shall employ any person for a work period of 
more than five (5) hours without a meal period of not less than 
thirty (30) minutes, except that when a work period of not more 
than six (6) hours will complete the day's work the meal period 
may be waived by mutual consent of employer and employee. 
Unless the employee is relieved of all duty during a thirty (30) 
minute meal period, the meal period shall be considered an "on 
duty" meal period and counted as time worked. An "on duty" 
meal period shall be permitted only when the nature of the work 
prevents an employee from being relieved of all duty and when 
by written agreement between the parties an on-the-job paid 
meal period is agreed to. 

(B) In all places of employment where employees are required 
to eat on the premises, a suitable place for that purpose shall be 
designated. 

12. REST PERIODS 

Every employer shall authorize and permit all employees to take rest 
periods, which insofar as practicable shall be in the middle of each work 
period. The authorized rest period time shall be based on the total hours 
worked daily at the rate of ten (10) minutes net rest time per four (4) hours 
or major fraction thereof. 

However, a rest period need not be authorized for employees whose total 
daily work time is less than three and one-half (3 1/2) hours. Authorized rest 
period time shall be counted as hours worked for which there shall be no 
deduction from wages. 

13. CHANGE ROOMS AND RESTING FACILITIES 

(A) Employers shall provide suitable lockers, closets, or 
equivalent for the safekeeping of employees' outer clothing 
during working hours, and when required, for their work 
clothing during nonworking hours. When the occupation 
requires a change of clothing, change rooms or equivalent space 



shall be provided in order that employees may change their 
clothing in reasonable privacy and comfort. These rooms or 
spaces may be adjacent to but shall be separate from toilet 
rooms and shall be kept clean. 

NOTE: This section shall not apply to change 
rooms and storage facilities regulated by the 
Occupational Safety and Health Standards Board. 

(B) Suitable resting facilities shall be provided in an area 

separate from the toilet rooms and shall be available to 

employees during work hours. 


14. SEATS 

(A) All working employees shall be provided with suitable seats 
when the nature of the work reasonably permits the use of seats. 

(B) When employees are not engaged in the active duties of 
their employment and the nature of the work requires standing, 
an adequate number of suitable seats shall be placed in 
reasonable proximity to the work area and employees shall be 
permitted to use such seats when it does not interfere with the 
performance of their duties. 

15. TEMPERATURE 

(A) The temperature maintained in each work area shall provide 
reasonable comfort consistent with industry-wide standards for 
the nature of the process and the work performed. 

(B) If excessive heat or humidity is created by the work process, 
the employer shall take all feasible means to reduce such 
excessive heat or humidity to a degree providing reasonable 
comfort. Where the nature of the employment requires a 
temperature of less than 60° F., a heated room shall be provided 
to which employees may retire for warmth, and such room shall 
be maintained at not less than 68°. 

(C) A temperature of not less than 68° shall be maintained in the 
toilet rooms, resting rooms, and change rooms during hours of 
use. 

(D) Federal and State energy guidelines shall prevail over any 
conflicting provision of this section. 

16. ELEVATORS 

Adequate elevator, escalator or similar service consistent with industry-wide 



 

 

 

 

 

standards for the nature of the process and the work performed shall be 
provided when employees are employed four floors or more above or below 
ground level. 

17. EXEMPTIONS 

If, in the opinion of the Division after due investigation, it is found that the 
enforcement of any provision contained in Section 7, Records; Section 11, 
Meal Periods; Section 12, Rest Periods; Section 13, Change Rooms and 
Resting Facilities; Section 14, Seats; Section 15, Temperature; or Section 
16, Elevators, would not materially affect the welfare or comfort of 
employees and would work an undue hardship on the employer, exemption 
may be made at the discretion of the Division. Such exemptions shall be in 
writing to be effective and may be revoked after reasonable notice is given 
in writing. Application for exemption shall be made by the employer or by 
the employee and/or the employee's representative to the Division in writing. 
A copy of the application shall be posted at the place of employment at the 
time the application is filed with the Division. 

18. FILING REPORTS 

(See California Labor Code, Section 1174(a)) 

19. INSPECTION 

(See California Labor Code, Section 1174) 

20. PENALTIES 

(See California Labor Code, Section 1199) 

21. SEPARABILITY 

If the application of any provision of this Order, or any section, subsection, 
subdivision, sentence, clause, phrase, word, or portion of this Order should 
be held invalid or unconstitutional or unauthorized or prohibited by statute, 
the remaining provisions thereof shall not be affected thereby, but shall 
continue to be given full force and effect as if the part so held invalid or 
unconstitutional had not been included herein. 

22. POSTING OF ORDER 

Every employer shall keep a copy of this Order posted in an area frequented 
by employees where it may be easily read during the work day. Where the 
location of work or other conditions make this impractical, every employer 
shall keep a copy of this Order and make it available to every employee 
upon request. 

EXCERPTS FROM THE LABOR CODE 



 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Section 98.6. (a) No person shall discharge or in any manner discriminate against any 
employee because such employee has filed any bona fide complaint or claim or instituted or 
caused to be instituted any proceeding under or relating to his rights, which are under the 
jurisdiction of the Labor Commissioner, or has testified or is about to testify in any such 
proceeding or because of the exercise by such employee on behalf of himself or others of 
any rights afforded him. 

(b) Any employee who is discharged, threatened with discharge, demoted, suspended, or in 
any other manner discriminated against in the terms and conditions of such employment 
because such employee has made a bona fide complaint or claim to the division pursuant to 
this part shall be entitled to reinstatement and reimbursement for lost wages and work 
benefits caused by such acts of the employer. Any employer who willfully refuses to hire, 
promote, or otherwise restore an employee or former employee who has been determined to 
be eligible for such rehiring or promotion by a grievance procedure, arbitration or hearing 
authorized by law, is guilty of a misdemeanor. 

Note: Nothing in this act shall be construed to entitle an employee to 
reinstatement or reimbursement for lost wages or work benefits if such 
employee willfully misrepresents any facts to support a complaint or claim 
filed with the Labor Commissioner. 

Section 200. As used in this article: (a) "Wages" includes all amounts for labor performed 
by employees of every description, whether the amount is fixed or ascertained by the 
standard of time, task, piece, commission basis, or other method of calculation. 

Section 201. If an employer discharges an employee, the wages earned and unpaid at the 
time of discharge are due and payable immediately. 

Section 202. If an employee not having a written contract for a definite period quits his 
employment, his wages shall become due and payable not later than 72 hours thereafter, 
unless the employee has given 72 hours previous notice of his intention to quit, in which 
case the employee is entitled to his wages at the time of quitting. 

Section 226. (a) Every employer shall semimonthly, or at the time of each payment of 
wages, furnish each of his or her employees either as a detachable part of the check, draft, 
or voucher paying the employee's wages, or separately when wages are paid by personal 
check or cash, an itemized statement in writing showing: (1) gross wages earned; (2) total 
hours worked by each employee whose compensation is based on an hourly wage; (3) all 
deductions; provided, that all deductions made on written orders of the employee may be 
aggregated and shown as one item; (4) net wages earned; (5) the inclusive dates of the 
period for which the employee is paid; (6) the name of the employee and his or her social 
security number; and (7) the name and address of the legal entity which is the employer. 

Section 1174. Every person employing labor in this state shall: 

(a) Furnish to the commission, at its request, reports or information which the commission 
requires to carry out this chapter. Such reports and information shall be verified if required 
by the commission or any member thereof. 

(b) Allow any member of the commission or the employees of the Division of Labor 
Standards Enforcement free access to the place of business or employment of such person 
to secure any information or make any investigation which they are authorized by this 
chapter to ascertain or make. The commission may inspect or make excerpts, relating to the 
employment of employees, from the books, reports, contracts, payrolls, documents, or 
papers of such person. 



 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Section 1191. For any occupation in which a minimum wage has been established, the 
commission may issue to an employee who is mentally or physically handicapped, or both, 
a special license authorizing the employment of the licensee for a period not to exceed one 
year from date of issue, at a wage less than the legal minimum wage. The commission shall 
fix a special minimum wage for the licensee. Such license may be renewed on a yearly 
basis. 

Section 1191.5. Notwithstanding the provisions of Section 1191, the commission may issue 
a special license to a nonprofit organization such as a sheltered workshop or rehabilitation 
facility to permit the employment of employees who have been determined by the 
commission to meet the requirements in Section 1191 without requiring individual licenses 
of such employees. The commission shall fix a special minimum wage for such employees. 
The special license for the nonprofit corporation shall be renewed on a yearly basis, or more 
frequently as determined by the commission. 

Section 1198.3. (a) the Chief of the Division of Labor Standards Enforcement may, when 
in his or her judgment hardship will result, exempt any employer or employees from any 
mandatory day or days off requirement contained in any order of the commission. Any 
exemption granted by the chief pursuant to this section shall be only of sufficient duration 
to permit the employer or employees to comply with the requirements contained in the 
order of the commission, but not more than one year. The exemption may be renewed by 
the chief only after he or she has investigated and is satisfied that a good faith effort is 
being made to comply with the order of the commission. 

(b) No employer shall discharge or in any other manner discriminate against any employee 
who refuses to work hours in excess of those permitted by the order of the commission. 

Section 1199. Every employer or other person acting either individually or as an officer, 
agent, or employee of another person is guilty of a misdemeanor and is punishable by a fine 
of not less than one hundred dollars ($100) or by imprisonment for not less than 30 days, or 
by both, who does any of the following: 

(a) Requires or causes any employee to work for longer hours than those fixed, or under 
conditions of labor prohibited by an order of the commission. 

(b) Pays or causes to be paid to any employee a wage less than the minimum fixed by an 
order of the commission. 

(c) Violates or refuses or neglects to comply with any provision of this chapter or any order 
or ruling of the commission. 

Section 1391.2. (a) Notwithstanding Sections 1391 and 1391.1, any minor under 18 years 
of age who has been graduated from a high school maintaining a four-year course above the 
eighth grade of the elementary schools, or who has had an equal amount of education in a 
private school or by private tuition, or who has been awarded a certificate of proficiency 
pursuant to Section 48412 of the Education Code, may be employed for the same hours as 
an adult may be employed in performing the same work. 

(b) Notwithstanding the provisions of the orders of the Industrial Welfare Commission, no 
employer shall pay any minor described in this section in his employ at wage rates less than 
the rates paid to adult employees in the same establishment for the same quantity and 
quality of the same classification of work; provided, however, that nothing herein shall 
prohibit a variation of rates of pay for such minors and adult employees engaged in the 
same classification of work based upon a difference in seniority, length of service, ability, 
skill, difference in duties or services performed, whether regularly or occasionally, 



 

 

difference in the shift or time of day worked, hours of work, or other reasonable 
differentiation, when exercised in good faith. 

Section 2800. An employer shall in all cases indemnify his employee for losses caused by 
the employer's want of ordinary care. 
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