BEFORE THE

STATE OF CALIFORNIA

OCCUPATIONAL SAFETY AND HEALTH

APPEALS BOARD

In the Matter of the Appeal of: Docket 12-R3D1-0439

ORANGE COUNTY FIRE AUTHORITY

One Fire Authority Road DENIAL OF PETITION

Irvine, CA 92602-0125 FOR RECONSIDERATION
Employer

The Occupational Safety and Health Appeals Board (Board), acting
pursuant to authority vested in it by the California Labor Code hereby denies
the petition for reconsideration filed in the above entitled matter by Orange
County Fire Authority (OCFA).

JURISDICTION

Commencing on January 25, 2012, the Division of Occupational Safety
and Health (Division) conducted an accident inspection of a place of
employment in California.

On January 26, 2012, the Division issued a citation to OCFA alleging a
“repeat regulatory” violation of occupational safety and health standards
codified in California Code of Regulations, Title 8, section 342(b) [failure of first
responder to report serious workplace injury].!

OCFA timely appealed.

Thereafter administrative proceedings were held before an Administrative
Law Judge (ALJ) of the Board, including a duly-noticed evidentiary hearing.
OCFA asserted that it did not violate the regulation as alleged, that therefore
there was no repeat violation, and that the Division has no authority to cite or
penalize a local fire agency.

On February 11, 2013, the ALJ issued a Decision (Decision) which
upheld the citation and imposed a $1,000 civil penalty on OCFA.

1 References are to California Code of Regulations, Title 8 unless specified otherwise.
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Employer timely filed a petition for reconsideration.
The Division filed an answer to the petition.
ISSUE
Did the ALJ correctly sustain the violation?
REASON FOR DENIAL

OF
PETITION FOR RECONSIDERATION

Labor Code section 6617 sets forth five grounds upon which a petition
for reconsideration may be based:

(@) That by such order or decision made and filed by the appeals
board or hearing officer, the appeals board acted without or
in excess of its powers.

(b)  That the order or decision was procured by fraud.
(c) That the evidence does not justify the findings of fact.
(d)  That the petitioner has discovered new evidence material to

him, which he could not, with reasonable diligence, have
discovered and produced at the hearing.
(e) That the findings of fact do not support the order or decision.

OCFA’s petition contends that the ALJ acted in excess of powers, the
evidence does not justify the findings of fact, and/or the findings of fact do not
support the Decision. (Labor Code section 6617(a), (c), and (e) respectively.)

The Board has fully reviewed the record in this case, including the
arguments presented in the petition for reconsideration. Based on our
independent review of the record, we find that the Decision was based on
substantial evidence in the record as a whole, correctly analyzed and applied
the law, and was appropriate under the circumstances.

Juan Valenzuela, the worker injured in the accident giving rise to the
citation at issue, testified at the hearing. On August 5, 2011, Valenzuela was
working as a drywall finisher for Kerns Drywall Corporation. While on a job in
Yorba Linda, California, Valenzuela fell 13 feet from a scaffold to the cement
floor below, suffering “serious” injuries as that term is used in section 342(b).
OCFA was called to the scene of the accident, and transported Valenzuela to a
hospital, where he had surgery to treat his injuries and where he remained for
four days.



OCFA stipulated that it did not report the accident to the Division.

OCFA argues in its petition that the accident was not reportable. We
disagree. First, as mentioned, Valenzuela’s testimony established that he
suffered serious injuries as that term is used in section 342(b). Thus there is
substantial and uncontradicted evidence in the record that a reportable injury
occurred. The issue then is whether OCFA is required by statute to report it.

OCFA argues (1) that the Division does not have authority to cite or fine
OCFA in its capacity as a local police or fire agency for failing to report a
serious injury to the Division; and (2) that the Division failed to establish a
violation of 342(b).

OCFA first contends that Labor Code section 6409.2 and Director’s
Regulation section 342(b) do not authorize the Division to cite or impose a
penalty on a local fire agency for failing to report a serious injury to another
employer’s employee. While textually correct insofar as those sections, per se,
do not authorize enforcement but merely establish a duty to report, OCFA’s
assertion ignores other provisions of the California Occupational Safety and
Health Act (the Act), Labor Code section 6300 et seq., which do authorize the
Division to cite and fine first responder agencies for failing to report serious
injuries as required by Labor Code section 6409.2. (California Highway Patrol,
Cal/OSHA App. 09-3762, Decision After Reconsideration (Aug. 16, 2012), citing
(Pacific Gas and Electric Co. v. Superior Court (2006) 144 Cal.App.4th 19, 24
[statutes read so as to harmonize to extent possible all provisions relating to
same subject matter|.) We next examine some other related provisions of the
Labor Code.

Labor Code section 6307 gives the Division “the power, jurisdiction, and
supervision over every employment and place of employment in this state[.]”
Similarly, Labor Code section 6308 provides, “The [D]ivision, in enforcing
occupational safety and health standards and orders and special orders may
do any of the following: [q] (c) Require the performance of any other act which
the protection of life and safety of the employees . . . reasonably demands.”
Even if one were persuaded that Labor Code section 6308 does not refer to
section 6409.2 or 342(b) (because they are not “safety and health standards
and orders”), other Labor Code provisions provide ample enforcement
authority.

First, Labor Code section 6313 requires the Division to investigate all
serious occupational injuries and illnesses. Thus, the reporting requirements
imposed on employers and first responders by sections 6409.1 and 6409.2 are
consistent, as they require persons who initially learn of such incidents to
inform the Division of them.



Second, Labor Code section 6317 gives the Division authority to cite an
employer for violation of “any standard, rule, order or regulation established
pursuant to this part[,|” meaning the Act as a whole, and impose a civil penalty
for such a violation. Section 342(b) is a regulation established pursuant to the
Act.

Third, Labor Code section 6434.5 provides that civil penalties assessed
against “a public police or city, county, or special district fire department” are
to be deposited into the Workers’ Compensation Administration Revolving Fund
and be refundable to the penalized agency upon certain conditions. Were such
agencies not subject to penalty, there would be no need for the refund
provisions of section 6434.5. We must avoid any interpretation of a statute
which renders some of its terms surplusage. (Sully-Miller Contracting Company
v. California Occupational Safety and Health Appeals Bd. (2006) 138 Cal.App.4th
684, 695.)

OCFA further argues that Labor Code section 6413.5 does not authorize
penalties against it. Section 6413.5 provides, in pertinent part:

Any employer or physician who fails to comply with any provision
of subdivision (a) or Section 6409 or Section 6409.1, 6409.2,
6409.3, or 6410 may be assessed a civil penalty of not less than
fifty dollars ($50) nor more than two hundred dollars ($200) by the
director or his or her designee if he or she finds a pattern or
practice of violations, or a willful violation of any of these
provisions.

OCFA’s petition argues that the quoted language does not authorize
penalties against first responders because they are not employers or
physicians. This argument ignores the definition of “employer” in Labor Code
section 6304 which states it “shall have” the same meaning as in Labor Code
section 3300, where in turn the term is defined to mean “(b) Each county, city,
district, and all public and quasi-public corporations and public agencies
therein.” Thus, OCFA is an “employer” under the Act.

Moreover, to argue that because the Legislature established a reporting
duty but did not in the same code section provide for enforcement of the duty
is to argue for an absurd result as well as to argue that one must only read one
section of the Act instead of the whole Act to ascertain it meaning. As the U. S.
Supreme Court recently stated, “[A] proper [statutory] analysis requires
consideration of what the state law in fact does, not how the litigant might
choose to describe it.” (Wosv. E. M. A. (2013)__U.S. __, (slip op., at 8.) And,
a reading of all related sections of the Act is not only required but also shows
that OCFA was required to report Valenzuela’s injury to the Division and may
be cited and penalized for its admitted failure to do so. (Pacific Gas and Electric
Co. v. Superior Court supra 144 Cal.App.4th at 24.)
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OCFA next argues that it is not subject to penalty because it is not the
employer of the injured employee. That argument does not stand against the
plain language of Labor Code section 6409.2. First, Labor Code section 6409.2
requires a first responder such as OCFA which “is called to an accident
involving an employee covered by [the Act]” to “notify” the Division. Valenzuela
was an employee of a firm doing business in California and working for that
firm when he had his accident, making him “an employee covered by” the Act.
The plain language of the statute does not limit the reporting duty to injuries to
an agency's own employees, and to so interpret it would be to read a term (to
the effect of “the first responder’s own employee(s)”) into its language. We may
not do so. (E. L. Yeager Construction Company, Inc., Cal/OSHA App. 01-3261,
Decision After Reconsideration (Nov. 2, 2007).) Second, as noted above, the Act
includes OCFA within the scope of the term “employer,” and contemplates
those public agencies such as a fire department may be penalized for violating
provisions of the Act or regulations promulgated under its authority. (See
Labor Code §§ 6304, 6307, 6317, and 6434.5.)

It is further noted that all of the above arguments were addressed and
rejected by the Board in Orange County Fire Authority, Cal/OSHA App. 10-
3667, Denial of Petition for Reconsideration (Jan. 3, 2013).

One question not raised by OCFA but implicit in its arguments is
whether Labor Code section 6413.5 limits the amount of penalty which may be
assessed against a first responder. As quoted above, Labor Code section
6413.5 limits a penalty to not more than $200 for a violation of Labor Code
section 6409.2., among other violations not pertinent here. Such a superficial
reading makes the statutes (including Labor Code sections 6413.5, 6427, and
6434.5) inconsistent, since Labor Code section 6413.5 limits penalties for
“employers and physicians” to no more than $200 while Labor Code section
6427 allows higher penalties to be assessed against employers, including
public agencies, for regulatory violations. The better reading of those various
Labor Code provisions, in the Board’s view, is that Labor Code section 6413.5
provides for a penalty which may be assessed by the “director” [of the
Department of Industrial Relations]| which is in addition or an alternative to
civil penalties under the other noted provisions. The penalty authorized by
section Labor Code 6413.5 may be contested with the “director,” rather than
appealed to the Board, as is the case when the penalty is proposed in
connection with a citation issued by the Division. (Labor Code §§ 6317, 6600.)
We conclude that public agencies may be assessed the penalties provided for in
section 6427 notwithstanding section 6314.5’s provisions.



DECISION

For the reasons stated above, the petition for reconsideration is denied.
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