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BEFORE THE 
 

STATE OF CALIFORNIA 
 

OCCUPATIONAL SAFETY AND HEALTH 
 

APPEALS BOARD 
 

In the Matter of the Appeal of: 
 
IN THE POCKET, INC. dba  
BRENTWOOD BOWL 
237 El Camino Real 
South San Francisco, CA  94080 
 
                                            Employer 
 

  Docket No. 11-R1D3-2272 
 
 

DECISION AFTER 
RECONSIDERATION 

 

 
 The Occupational Safety and Health Appeals Board (Board), acting 
pursuant to authority vested in it by the California Labor Code and having 
ordered reconsideration of the Decision of the Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) 
on its own motion, renders the following decision after reconsideration. 
 

JURISDICTION 
 

 Beginning on March 17, 2011, the Division of Occupational Safety and 
Health (Division) conducted an inspection at a place of employment in South 
San Francisco, California maintained by In the Pocket, Inc., dba Brentwood 
Bowl (Employer).  On August 3, 2011 the Division issued a citation to Employer 
alleging a violation of workplace safety and health standards codified in 
California Code of Regulations, Title 8, and proposing civil penalties.1 
 
 The citation alleged a Regulatory violation of section 342(a) [failure to 
report serious injury]. 
 

Employer filed timely appeals of the citations.  Employer contested the 
reasonableness of the proposed penalty and listed “financial hardship/inability 
to pay” as a defense. 

 
 Administrative proceedings were held, including a contested evidentiary 
hearing before an Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) of the Board.  After taking 
testimony and considering the evidence and arguments of counsel, the ALJ 
issued an Amended Decision on August 21, 2012.  The Decision denied 

                                                 
1 Unless otherwise specified, all references are to California Code of Regulations, Title 8. 
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Employer’s appeal and upheld the regulatory citation, reducing the civil penalty 
to $1500 from the Division’s proposed $5000. 
 

The Board ordered reconsideration of the decision on its own motion.  
The Division filed an answer to the petition.  Employer did not file an answer. 

 
ISSUE 

 
 Did the ALJ correctly analyze and apply the labor code to the penalty 
determination? 

 
EVIDENCE 

 
The Decision summarizes the evidence adduced at hearing in detail.  We 

summarize that evidence briefly below, focusing on the portions relevant to the 
issue presented. 

 
The parties stipulated to a number of facts underlying the alleged 

violation.  We summarize those stipulated facts as follows.  On February 17, 
2011, at 9:45 a.m., a handyman employee of employer was preparing to remove 
stucco from the ceiling of a porch.  Pieces of stucco struck the employee, who 
was transported to the hospital, where doctors determined the employee had a 
broken arm, at least one broken rib, and a skull fracture.  The employee 
remained hospitalized in excess of 24 hours for other than observation from 
February 17 through February 23, 2011. 

 
Millard Tong (Tong), Employer’s owner, went to the hospital to visit the 

employee, and placed calls to the hospital to be updated on the employee’s 
condition.  Employer was aware that the employee was in the hospital from 
February 17 through February 23.  Employer did not report the employee’s 
serious injury to the Division; the South San Francisco Fire Department timely 
reported the injury to the Division.  Employer was unaware that the Fire 
Department was planning to make the report.  The Division was not impeded in 
its investigation, as the Fire Department made a timely report. 

 
At the time of the accident, Employer had no system in place for 

reporting serious injuries to the Division.  At the time, Employer would call its 
insurance company and believed that the insurance company would make any 
necessary reports.  Employer now has a system in place and does not rely on 
the insurance company.  Employer has been in business for 10 years and has 
no prior experience with reportable occupational injuries.  Employer also 
abated two substantive violations.2 
                                                 
2 Decision, p. 3-4.  The parties also stipulated that Employer was a small employer eligible for a 40% size 
discount, had been cooperative and would receive a maximum good faith credit of 30%, and that 
Employer now had an adequate safety program, making a maximum penalty unnecessary for Employer’s 
compliance.  The parties also stipulated that neither objected to a lowering of the penalty. 
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DECISION AFTER RECONSIDERATION 
 

In making this decision, the Board relies upon its independent review of 
the entire evidentiary record in the proceeding.  The Board has taken no new 
evidence.  The Board has also reviewed and considered the Division’s answer to 
the Board’s order of reconsideration. 

 
Section 342(a) states: 
 

Every employer shall report immediately by telephone or telegraph 
to the nearest District Office of the Division of Occupational Safety 
and Health any serious injury or illness, or death, of an employee 
occurring in a place of employment or in connection with any 
employment. 
 
Immediately means as soon as practically possible but not longer 
than 8 hours after the employer knows or with diligent inquiry 
would have known of the death or serious injury or illness.  If the 
employer can demonstrate that exigent circumstances exist, the 
time frame for the report may be made longer than 24 hours after 
the incident . . . 

 
Labor Code section 6409.1(b) is the authority for the section, and states: 
 

In every case involving a serious injury or illness, or death, in 
addition to the report required by subdivision (a) [lost-time 
workplace injuries reported within 5 days to Administrative 
Director of Division of Workers' Compensation], a report shall be 
made immediately by the employer to the Division of Occupational 
Safety and Health by telephone or telegraph.  An employer who 
violates this subdivision may be assessed a civil penalty of not less 
than five thousand dollars ($ 5000).  Nothing in this section shall 
be construed to increase the maximum civil penalty, pursuant to 
Sections 6427 to 6430, inclusive, that may be imposed for a 
violation of this section. 
 

As the Board has discussed in a number of prior decisions after 
reconsideration, the Legislature used specific language to demonstrate its 
intent in section 6409.1(b), as quoted above.  By analyzing the language of the 
statute, as well as the legislative history, the Board has determined that the 
intention of the statute is to create a penalty of either $5000 or zero.  (SDCCD- 
Continuing Education N C Center, Cal/OSHA App. 11-1196, Decision After 
Reconsideration (Dec. 4, 2012).)  The Board will only modify the $5,000 civil 
penalty when an employer fails to report a serious injury in extraordinary 
circumstances, and the penalty would represent a miscarriage of justice. (Allied 
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Sales and Distribution, Inc., Cal/OSHA App. 11-0480, Decision After 
Reconsideration (Nov. 29, 2012).) 
 

In the case at hand, the parties have stipulated that Employer acted in 
good faith, but nonetheless failed to report the injury.  Had it not been for the 
local fire department making the report, the Division may not have ever become 
aware of the serious injury that the Employer’s employee suffered, or the two 
other safety violations which were present at Employer’s worksite.  By doing 
business in California, an Employer assumes the obligation of complying with 
its various laws and regulations, including the duty to report serious injuries to 
the Division.  Ignorance of this requirement is no excuse for failure to comply. 
(OC Turf and Putting Greens, Cal/OSHA App. 13-1751, Denial  of Petition for 
Reconsideration (Jun. 9, 2014), citing Nick’s Lighthouse, Cal/OSHA App. 05-
3086, Denial of Petition for Reconsideration (Jun. 8, 2007).)  It cannot be said 
that it is a miscarriage of justice in this instance to issue a penalty to Employer 
for its failure to report the serious injury. (SCCD- Continuing Education N C 
Center, supra). 

 
Nor does the evidence presented at hearing establish a sufficient basis 

upon which to grant a penalty reduction.  The incomplete financial information 
provided by Employer suggests that the business, while perhaps not booming, 
has managed to earn a gross profit, with only a small loss shown after all total 
deductions are calculated, including depreciations.  (Stockton Tri Industries, 
Inc., Cal/OSHA App. 02-4946, Decision After Reconsideration (Mar. 27, 2006).) 

 
The proposed penalty of $5000 assessed by the Division is reasonable, 

and is reinstated.  The penalty may be payable over a 12 month installment 
plan. 
 
 
ART CARTER, Chairman    
ED LOWRY, Board Member 
JUDITH S. FREYMAN, Board Member 
 
OCCUPATIONAL SAFETY AND HEALTH APPEALS BOARD 
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