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BEFORE THE 
 

STATE OF CALIFORNIA 
 

OCCUPATIONAL SAFETY AND HEALTH 
 

APPEALS BOARD 

 
In the Matter of the Appeal of: 
 

ALLIED SALES AND DISTRIBUTION, INC. 
2021 East 52nd Street 

Vernon, CA  90058 
 
                                         Employer 

 

  Docket 11-R6D2-0480 

 
 

DECISION AFTER 

RECONSIDERATION 
 

 

 The Occupational Safety and Health Appeals Board (Board), acting 
pursuant to authority vested in it by the California Labor Code and having 

ordered reconsideration of the above referenced matter on its own motion,  
renders the following decision after reconsideration. 
 

JURISDICTION 
 
 On January 18, 2011, the Division of Occupational Safety and Health 

issued a citation alleging two violations of Title 8, California Code of 
Regulations [342(a) failure to report a serious injury; 3650(t)(12) failure to 

ensure all persons in the clear before moving pallet jack]1.  Employer filed 
timely appeals, and the facts were presented at a hearing through testimony 
and stipulations.  Employer withdrew its appeal of item 2.  In the resulting 

Decision, the ALJ amended the Citation to be a Notice in Lieu of Citation, per 
Labor Code section 6317, and imposed no penalty. 

 
Issue 

 

Was the penalty assessed for the violation of section 342(a) in Citation 1, 
Item 1, appropriate? 

 

Evidence 
 

The record contains thirteen stipulations and the testimony of 
Employer’s vice president, Gregg Nivens.  In sum, Employer did not report a 
serious injury.  Employer was informed by the Vernon Fire Department, who 

responded to the workplace injury, that Employer did not have to report, as the 
Fire Department, specifically the Fire Chief, would be reporting. 

                                                 
1 All references are to Title 8, California Code of Regulations unless otherwise indicated. 
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Based on this representation, the Employer refrained from reporting.  It 
knew about the reporting requirement, and was prepared to call in the report 

on the day it occurred.  But for the statements of the Fire Chief, Employer 
would have reported.  Employer is a medium sized employer, with 33 

employees.  Employer had no history of any violations, and, after inspection by 
the Division, was found to have a complete IIPP.  However, Employer was also 
cited for a violation of 3650(t)(12) [failure to ensure all persons in the clear 

before moving pallet jack] and withdrew its appeal of that citation at the 
hearing. 

 

Decision 
 

 The Board is required, in the course of resolving an appealed penalty, to 
affirm, vacate, or modify such penalty, or determine other appropriate relief in 
order to fulfill the purposes of the Occupational Safety and Health Act.  (Labor 

Code § 6602.)  Section 342(a) requires employers to report to the Division any 
and all serious injuries occurring in the workplace, within 8 hours of the 

employer obtaining knowledge of the gravity of the injury using reasonable 
diligence.  The section implements Labor Code section 6409.1(b), which 
requires employers to report serious injuries. 

 
In 2002, Labor Code section 6409.1(b) was amended to add a penalty of 

$5000.00 for violating the reporting requirement.  Previously, the reporting 

requirement had no individualized statutory penalty.  Rather, the penalty for a 
section 342(a) violation was authorized by Labor Code section 6319, and 

calculated by section 336.  (See also Labor Code sections 6423 through 6436).  
Regulatory penalties are calculated by the Division by applying subsections (a) 
and (d) of section 336.  Under those provisions, prior to 2002 the gravity based 

penalty for a section 342(a) regulatory violation was $500.00, and was subject 
to adjustment under section 336(d) for the history, good faith, and size of the 
employer.  (See Labor Code section 6319.)  Penalties could be adjusted under 

the provisions of section 336(d) to as low as $100.00 in some, but not all, 
cases.  Except for repeat or willful failures to report, the most an employer 

would receive as a penalty for reporting, either late or not at all, was $500.00. 
 

 The 2002 amendment of Labor Code section 6409.1(b) added the 

following: “An employer who violates this subdivision may be assessed a civil 
penalty of not less than five thousand dollars ($5000.00).  Nothing in this 

subdivision shall be construed to increase the maximum civil penalty, 
pursuant to Sections 6427 to 64302, inclusive, that may be imposed for a 
violation of this section.” 

 

                                                 
2 6427: $7000.00 maximum for non-serious violations; 6428: Maximum penalty for serious violation, 
$25,000, Employer’s without an IIPP are not entitled to adjustment for good faith or history as provided 
by Labor Code section 6319, para.s 3 and 4; 6428.5: definition of IIPP; 6429: Willful or repeat violations, 
maximum penalty of $70,000, repeat violators receive no adjustment for good faith or history of the 
employer; 6430: maximum penalties for failure to abate. 
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 Whether this language requires a mandatory minimum penalty in all 
cases, or allows for zero penalty in some cases, or allows varying penalties 

depending on the circumstances of the case, or eliminated the requirement of 
Labor Code section 6319 and section 336(d) that all proposed penalties shall 

account for employer size, history and good faith, are issues that are 
unresolved by either the language of the amendment or the legislative history.  
Specifically, the language uses “may”, which is defined in Labor Code section 

15 as “permissive”.  If the legislature meant that the penalty “shall” be 
$5000.00 in each case without regard to any circumstance, it could have used 
the word “shall”, also defined in Labor Code section 15 as “mandatory”.  If the 

Legislature intended to eliminate the mandate in Labor Code section 6319 that 
all penalties shall account for size, history and good faith of the employer, it 

could have stated that as well.  It did not.  Repeal by implication is disfavored, 
and silence regarding the intentions of the Legislature cannot be considered to 
embody the intent of the Legislature.  (Citizens Association of Sunset Beach v. 
Orange County Local Agency Formation Commission, et al, (2012) 209 Cal. App. 
4th 1182.) 

 
 The Division’s subsequent regulation implementing the change to Labor 
Code section 6409.1(b) did not conform the regulation to the new statutory 

language.  The regulation varied from the Labor Code use of “may” by using the 
word “shall.”  The new regulation, however, was promulgated as a change 

without regulatory effect.3 
 

Section 336(a)(6) is silent as to whether the mandatory considerations 

allowing adjustments, previously available under 336(d), were eliminated.  The 
word “assess” is used throughout the regulation to refer to the gravity based 

assessment for a regulatory violation, which is subject to section 336(d) 
adjustments for size, good faith and history.  In the Rulemaking file submitted 
to the Office of Administrative Law as part of its addition of section 336(a)(6), 

the Division wrote  
 
Section 336 also contains exceptions to the rule that regulatory 

violations shall have a minimum penalty of $500.  [Examples 
omitted.]  Consistent with these exceptions, the Division proposes 

to add a further exception to assess a minimum $5000 penalty for 
a violation of Section 342.  This proposed amendment to section 
336 has no regulatory effect, because it merely makes Section 336 

consistent with Labor Code section 6409.1, as recently amended.  
In the words of Section 100 of Title 1 of the California Code of 

Regulations, Section 336 is currently inconsistent with, and 
superseded by, Labor Code section 6409.1 because it creates a 
minimum penalty for regulatory violations.   

 

                                                 
3 Division Regulatory Rulemaking file 1-30-2003, effective 3/01/03 (Register 2003, No. Z-7). 
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When the change was made, the minimum $500 penalty was adjusted 
for size, good faith, and history per section 336(d).  The Division reasoning 

states the only change made by the addition of section 336(a)(6) was to 
increase the unadjusted regulatory penalty from $500 to $5000.  However, 

despite this reasoning, the Division also in practice declines to apply the 
mandate of Labor Code section 6319 that consideration be given for the size, 
good faith, and history of the employer in all proposed penalties. 

 
 Consistent with Labor Code section 6602, which was not amended when 
section 6409.1(b) was amended, the Board has declined to give the Division’s 

section 342(a) penalty proposal any presumptive effect.  The Division applies 
the $5,000 penalty automatically, and does not adjust it based on any evidence 

other than the occurrence of the violation.  (See Evidence Code section 664; RII 
Plastering, Inc., Cal/OSHA App. 00-4250, Decision After Reconsideration (Oct. 

21, 2003) [When Division fails to provide any evidence of a penalty calculation, 
an employer is given maximum credits rather than no penalty]; and Plantel 
Nurseries, Cal/OSHA App. 01-2346, Decision After Reconsideration (Jan. 8, 

2004) [Board declined to consider factors other than those in regulation when 
setting final contested penalty, and required some evidence of the facts used to 

calculate the penalty prior to upholding the Division’s proposed penalty].) 
 

The Board has a history of relying on section 6602 to impose the final 

penalty.  (Bill Callaway and Greg Lay dba Williams Redi Mix, Cal/OSHA App. 
03-2400, Decision After Reconsideration (Jul. 14, 2006).)  In Callaway, the 

Board determined $5000.00 was more than what would be required to fulfill 
the purposes of the Act, and reduced the penalty for the three-days-late report 

to $750.00.4  Likewise, the Board in other contexts takes the position that 
when a penalty will have no remedial effect, but only a punitive effect, such as 
in the case of financial hardship, adjustments should be made.  (Stockton Tri 
Industries, Cal/OSHA App. 02-4946, Decision After Reconsideration (Mar. 27, 
2006).)  Unique to the late reporting penalty, the Division does not evaluate any 

evidence when issuing a Notice of Penalty under section 336(a)(6).  The penalty 
is thus subject only to the determination by the Board under the Board’s 
authority in Labor Code section 6602. 

 
While the Board continues to have the authority to adjust or modify any 

penalty, when the Legislature significantly changes a specific penalty for a 
specific type of violation, the Board should implement the purpose of the Act 
embodied in that change.  In the instant legislative action, the intent is not 

                                                 
4 One factor for the adjustment was the accident happened on a weekend.  Labor Code 6300 sets forth 
the Purpose of the OSH Act: “The California Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1973 is hereby enacted 
for the purpose of assuring safe and healthful working conditions for all California working men and 
women by authorizing the enforcement of effective standards, assisting and encouraging employers to 
maintain safe and healthful working conditions, and by providing for research, information, education, 
training, and enforcement in the field of occupational safety and health.” 
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clear from the language chosen, because of the ambiguity in the text of section 
6409.1(b).  When a statute is ambiguous it is appropriate to look to the 

legislative history for guidance.  (Jensen v. BMW of North America, Inc. (1995) 
35 Cal.App.4th 112, 122-123.)  The legislative history clarifies that the change 

was intended to effectuate a $5000.00 penalty whenever an employer fails to 
report.  “Existing law requires an employer to immediately file a report to the 
division in every case involving a serious injury or illness, or death.  This bill 

would impose a civil penalty of not less than $5000 against any employer who 
fails to file a report as specified.”  (Legisl. Counsel’s Dig. Assem. Bill No. 2837, 

Ch. 885 (2001-2002 Reg. Sess.) p.1.)  The Minutes of the Assembly Committee 
on Labor and Employment also considered the legislation.  The minutes of the 
April 3, 2002, Hearing contain the following: “[T]his bill . . . Provides that an 

employer who files (sic) to report of (sic) a serious injury, illness, or death, as 
required by existing law, may be assessed a penalty of not less than $5 
thousand or more than $25 thousand.”  “With respect to reporting of accidents, 

this bill adds new civil and criminal penalties for an employer who fails to 
immediately report such accidents as required by law.  Civil penalties are 

added for failure to report serious or fatal workplace accidents.”  “Many of the 
issues in this bill were raised in a series of articles in the Orange County 
Register in October 2001 which reported on problems with fatal workplace 

accidents in Orange County that were not timely reported or investigated.”  
(Assembly Committee On Labor and Employment, A.B. 2837, as Amended April 

3, 2002, Hearing dated April 10, 2002, pp. 1, 2) 
 
Amendments were made to the bill which removed the upper limit of the 

penalty.  The reasons given for the resulting language, facilitating a significant 
increase, is consistently stated as to address failures to report a death or 
serious injury.  The Senate Rules Committee Third Reading Digest contains the 

following: “This bill . . . (2) adds civil and criminal penalties for failure to report 
accidents.” (p. 1).  A Senate Committee on Labor Relations report states the 

purpose of the bill is to “add civil and criminal penalties for failure to report 
accidents.”  (Report of Senate Committee on Labor Relations, Hearing date, 
June 26, 2002, p. 1.)  The Report also states: “an employer who fails to report a 

serious injury, illness, or death may be assessed a civil penalty of not less than 
$5000.”  (Id. p. 2.) 

 

As the bill moved through the legislature, the description of the effect 
and purpose of the bill shows it was intended only to address the failure of 

employers to report workplace fatalities.  The Appropriations Committee Fiscal 
Summaries describe the bill as follows: “AB 2837 makes employers who fail to 
report workplace accidents resulting in death to DOSH liable for civil penalties 

and misdemeanor prosecution.”  (See reports dated 8/22/02. 8/5/02)  Last, 
the Enrolled Bill Report describes the change as follows: “This bill revises 

reporting and investigation procedures of workplace accidents resulting in 
serious injury or death and the prosecution of criminal violation (sic) of such 
accidents, add civil penalties and criminal penalties for failure to report such 

accidents[.]”  (Enrolled Bill report A.B. 2837, p.1)  The one clear intent of the 
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Legislature is that the penalty for failing to report a serious injury or illness, or 
death, should be $5000.00. 

 
Here, Employer admitted its failure to report.  The reason for the failure 

was reliance on the express claim of the Fire Chief that no report was needed.  
Such a claim does not rise to the level of estoppel.  (See Underground 
Construction Co., Inc., Cal/OSHA App. 09-3518, Denial of Petition for 

Reconsideration (Mar. 22, 2012) [the party inducing Employer to act in reliance 
must be apprised of the facts when making a representation that is relied upon 

in order to be estopped from enforcing the requirement].)  There is no 
indication in the Legislative history, the language of section 6409.1(b), or the 
penalty setting provisions of the Act that reasonable reliance on another’s 

report fulfills the reporting requirement, or has any relevance to setting a 
penalty. 

 
 The ALJ amended the citation to a Notice in Lieu of Citation under Labor 
Code section 6317.  To so amend, evidence must show the violation “did not 

have a direct relationship upon the health or safety of an employee” or “the 
violations do not have an immediate relationship to the health or safety of an 
employee and are regulatory or general in nature.”  (Labor Code § 6317)  The 

decision concludes that the Division’s actual receipt of a timely report by the 
first responder, and the Division’s unimpeded ability to undertake an 

investigation render the violation without immediate relationship to the health 
or safety of a worker.  To the first point, the statute and regulations create 
duplicate reporting requirements.  Although an employer can authorize another 

to make a report on its behalf, employers and first responders have separate 
duties to report.  (Helpmates Staffing, Cal/OSHA App. 05-2239, Decision After 

Reconsideration (Jan. 20, 2011); § 342(d).)  And, we believe the Legislature 
established a sizeable penalty in Labor Code section 6409.1(b) because it 
considered the reporting requirement to be important, and not fulfilled by the 

first responder’s own report.  The duplication built in to these reporting 
requirements indicates the importance to the Legislature that the Division 

receives injury reports.  Excusing reports because they are duplicative5 thus 
undermines this purpose. 
 

As to the second point, while the parties stipulated the Division was able 
to effectively investigate, this factor is not meaningful in determining whether 
the violation bears an “immediate relationship to health and safety of an 

employee.”  The circumstances of the workplace determine whether the failure 
to report bears an immediate relationship to employee health and safety.  Here, 

Employer was cited for an additional violation.  This was identified during the 
investigation, which began November 4, 2010, 16 days after the injury.  There 
was potentially some ongoing exposure of an employee to a workplace hazard 

                                                 
5 Section 342(c) lists ten items of information that, if known, must be included in the report by both the 
employer and the responding agency.  The employer’s report may be more comprehensive and are thus 
not always duplicative of the responding agency. 
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in this period of time.  As such, the Employer did not show the violations bore 
no immediate relationship to health or safety of an employee.  Since the 

Division did not stipulate to amending the citation to a Notice, evidence must 
support the amendment.  It is lacking on this record. 

 
 Although the Legislative record is clear that the penalty of $5000.00 was 
intended for a failure to report a serious injury, the language of section 

6409.1(b) indicates that the penalty is not required in all cases.  Although there 
may be cases wherein a penalty of $5000.00 for failing to report results in a 
miscarriage of justice, thus requiring a zero penalty, such standard is not met 

in this case.  Thus, we no longer consider the calculation factors in Trader 
Dan’s for adjusting penalties, and instead exercise our discretion to affirm, 

modify, or vacate a penalty when the employer fails to report by imposing either 
a $5000.00 or zero penalty.  In this case, the appropriate penalty for the failure 

to report a serious injury to the Division is $5000.00. 
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