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BEFORE THE 
 

STATE OF CALIFORNIA 
 

OCCUPATIONAL SAFETY AND HEALTH 
 

APPEALS BOARD 

 
In the Matter of the Appeal of: 
 

SDCCD – CONTINUING EDUCATION 
N C CENTER 

3375 Camino Del Rio South, Room 285 
San Diego, CA  92108 
 

                                         Employer 
 

Docket 11-R3D2-1196 
 

 

 

DECISION AFTER 
RECONSIDERATION 

 

 
 The Occupational Safety and Health Appeals Board (Board), acting 

pursuant to authority vested in it by the California Labor Code and having 
ordered reconsideration of the above referenced matter on its own motion, 
renders the following decision after reconsideration. 

 
JURISDICTION 

 

 On March 15, 2011, the Division of Occupational Safety and Health 
(Division) commenced an investigation at a place of employment maintained by 

SDCCD – Continuing Education N C Center (Employer) in California.  The 
investigation concerned an accident which occurred on February 23, 2011, 
which was reported to the Division by the San Diego Fire Department, but not 

by Employer.  On April 19, 2011, the Division issued one citation alleging one 
violation of Title 81, California Code of Regulations, section 342(a).  No other 
citations were issued.  Employer filed a timely appeal contesting the violation, 

and the proposed penalty of $5000.00.  The Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) 
imposed a penalty of $2500.00. 

 
 On January 11, 2012, the Board issued an Order of Reconsideration, 
and allowed the parties to submit answers to its Order.  The Employer did not 

file an Answer.  The Division filed an Answer asserting the Decision contained 
an inaccurate application of the Board’s reasoning in previous decisions 

regarding section 342(a) violations, and urged a greater penalty be imposed 
consistent with those previous decisions. 
 

                                       
1 All references are to Title 8, California Code of Regulations unless otherwise indicated. 
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EVIDENCE 
 

 All evidence was submitted by way of stipulation.  Employer has 1700 
employees, and a reporting system in place.  Employer failed to report the 

injury giving rise to the instant citation to the Division.  The reason proffered 
for the failure to report was that the employee responsible for such report was 
in her first week on the job and failed to make the necessary report.  The fire 

department made a report to the Division on the same day as the injury.  The 
Division began its inspection 18 days later.  If additional citations were issued, 
they were not appealed.  Employer reported the injury to its insurance carrier 

and in all other respects appears to have fulfilled its obligations to the 
employee. 

 
DECISION 

 

There is no dispute as to the existence of the violation here.  The only 
issue is the appropriate penalty.  The penalty setting rules concerning a failure 

to report a serious workplace injury to the Division include Labor Code section 
6319, Labor Code section 6409.1(b), and sections 336(a)(6), and 336(d) of Title 
8.  The Board is required to affirm, modify, vacate, or direct other appropriate 

relief regarding an appealed penalty.  (Labor Code § 6602).  We endeavor to 
effectuate the Legislative intent when applying statutes, and must do so even 
when the language of the enactments is subject to several reasonable 

interpretations.  (Kaiser Steel Corp. v. County of Solano (1979) 90 Cal. App. 3d 
662, 666-667.)  While Legislative history is not the starting point for statutory 

construction, any construction given to a statute should be consistent with 
that history.  (People v. Ramirez (2009) 45 Cal. 4th 980, 987.) 

 
In 2002, Labor Code section 6409.1(b) was amended to add: “An 

employer who violates this subdivision [reporting requirement] may be 

assessed a civil penalty of not less than five thousand dollars ($5000).  Nothing 
in this subdivision shall be construed to increase the maximum civil penalty, 
pursuant to Sections 6427 to 6430, inclusive, that may be imposed for a 

violation of this section.”  Previously, the reporting requirement had no 
individualized statutory penalty, but carried the same penalty as other 

regulatory violations.  (Labor Code section 6319, section 336(a) and (d); see 
also Labor Code sections 6423 through 6436).  Under those provisions, the 
gravity based penalty for a failure to report was $500.00, and was subject to 

adjustment under section 336(d) for the history, good faith, and size of the 
employer.  (See Labor Code § 6319.)  Penalties could be adjusted, then, to as 

low as $100.00 in some, but not all, cases.  Except for repeat or willful failures 
to report, the most an employer would receive as a penalty for reporting, either 
late or not at all, was $500.00. 
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Whether the new language of Labor Code section 6409.1(b) requires a 
mandatory minimum penalty in all cases, or allows for zero penalty in some 

cases, or allows varying penalties depending on the circumstances of the case, 
or eliminated the requirement of Labor Code section 6319 and section 336(d) 

that all penalties shall account for employer size, history and good faith, are 
issues that are unresolved by either the language of the amendment or, in 
some cases, the legislative history.2  Specifically, the statute uses the 

permissive term “may”, which is defined in Labor Code section 15.  If the 
legislature meant that the penalty “shall” be $5000.00 in each case without 
regard to any circumstance or other provisions of the Act, it could have used 

the word “shall”, also defined in Labor Code section 15 as “mandatory”.  If the 
Legislature intended to eliminate the mandate in Labor Code section 6319 that 

all penalties shall account for size, history and good faith of the employer, it 
could have stated that as well.  It did not. 

 

The Division’s subsequent regulation implementing the change to Labor 
Code section 6409.1(b) addressed the penalty for section 342(a) violations, but 

failed to conform the regulations to the new language.  The regulation varied 
from the Labor Code use of “may” by using the word “shall.”  The new 
regulation was promulgated as a change without regulatory effect.3  Neither 

section 336(a)(6) nor the rulemaking file indicate the mandatory adjustments 
previously available under 336(d) are not to be used.  The word “assess” is used 

throughout section 336 to refer to the gravity based assessment for a 
regulatory violation.  All such assessments are subject to section 336(d) which 
can adjust for size, good faith and history.  Although the Rulemaking file 

indicates that the only change was to alter the $500 pre-adjusted penalty from 
$500 to $5000, in practice, the Division assessed a penalty of $5000.00, 

declining to adjust this amount for the size, good faith, and history of the 
employer, or for any other reason. 

 

In any event, the Board has authority in Labor Code section 6602 to set 
an appropriate penalty.  The Division agrees.  It responded to the Board’s Order 

of Reconsideration and asserted that under Trader Dan’s dba Rooms n Covers, 
Etc., Cal/OSHA App. 08-4978, Decision After Reconsideration (Oct. 8, 2009) 

and Bill Callaway and Greg Lay  dba Williams Redi Mix, Cal/OSHA App. 03-
2400, Decision After Reconsideration (Jul. 14, 2006), the reduction in the 

proposed $5000.00 penalty in this case should have been less than the amount 
deducted by the ALJ in the Decision, stating “[w]hether the Appeals Board 
resolves the case based upon the example presented in the Division’s argument 

or its own determination is irrelevant and as (sic) it is clearly under the 
auspices for the Board to assess penalty.”  (Division’s Answer, p.4, lines 5-8.)  

                                       
2 We refer to the Assembly Committee on Labor and Employment report of April 10, 2002, that states the 
intent behind the changes to 6409.1(b) in 2002 was to raise the penalty for failure to report.  (Page 1, 
para. 5)  The selected level of penalty was five thousand dollars ($5000.00). 
3 Division Rulemaking filed1-30-2003, effective 3/01/03 (Register 2003, No. Z-7). 
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The Board has concluded that when a penalty will have no remedial effect, but 
only a punitive effect, such as in the case of financial hardship, adjustments 

should be made.  (Stockton Tri Industries, Cal/OSHA App. 02-4946, Decision 
After Reconsideration (Mar. 27, 2006).)  The authority for these adjustments is 

Labor Code section 6602. 
 

In the failure to report context, we have additional indications of what 
the Legislature intended through the 2002 amendment to section 6409.1(b) of 
the Labor Code.  Since the amendment is susceptible to multiple reasonable 

interpretations, and did not directly repeal either sections 6602 or 6319 of the 
Labor Code, and used the term “may” when describing the imposition of a 

minimum penalty of $5000, the statute is ambiguous.  In such cases, the 
Legislative history is an appropriate resource to determine what the enactment 
does.  (Jensen v. BMW of North America, Inc. (1995) 35 Cal.App.4th 112, 122-

123.)  That history indicates the target of the amendment was employers who 
fail to report, and that in such cases, the penalty is to be $5000.00 or zero. 

“This bill revises reporting and investigation procedures of workplace accidents 
resulting in serious injury or death and the prosecution of criminal violation 
(sic) of such accidents, add[s] civil penalties and criminal penalties for failure to 

report such accidents[.]”  (Enrolled Bill report A.B. 2837, p.1)  Also, the 
Appropriations Committee Fiscal Summaries describe the bill as follows: “AB 
2837 makes employers who fail to report workplace accidents resulting in 

death to DOSH liable for civil penalties and misdemeanor prosecution.”  (See 
reports dated 8/22/02 and 8/5/02.) 

 

Here, however, this large employer left it to the new hire to make a report 

required by the Legislature, and apparently did not adequately supervise or 
train this staff person to assure compliance with the law.  The Employer never 
reported the injury.  While we retain the ability to impose either a $5000.00 

penalty or a zero penalty, none of the facts here justify the latter option.  In this 
case, the ALJ applied the Trader Dan’s analysis and reached an individualized 

penalty of $2500.00.  Trader Dan’s and Callaway reasoned that individualized, 
fact-based penalties would encourage compliance with the reporting 
requirement.  However, compliance has been unaffected by the variable penalty 

scheme first articulated in those cases.4  Since such variability has not had the 
desired effect, the various factors justifying reduction in penalty are no longer 

relevant to the penalty analysis for reporting violations.  Rather, the purpose of 
this portion of the Act, as clarified by the Legislative history, is to impose a 

                                       
4 According to data contained in a DOSH Budget and Program Office reports for 2005 through 2011, 
342(a) violations were the most appealed, except for 2005 when it was the most frequently cited and the 
fourth most frequently appealed, and 2006 and 2009, when it was the second highest percentage 
appealed.  The fluctuating level of citations (low of 399 to a high of 632) have not demonstrated a trend 
affected by the efforts of the Board to match the penalty to the gravity of the employer’s conduct.  That is, 
the board’s 342(a) decisions had no statistically significant impact on the number of such citations being 
issued or appealed. 
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$5000.00 penalty in all cases of non-reporting, except if it would result in a 
miscarriage of justice, when a zero penalty is allowed.  Since the Legislative 

history contains no reference to the situation of a late report, we limit our 
result here to cases where the Employer failed to report at all. 

 
Thus, we affirm the penalty of $5000.00 assessed in the citation. 

 

 
 
ART R. CARTER, Chairman 

ED LOWRY, Member 
JUDITH S. FREYMAN, Member 
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